Latest news

VDE awards prizes for excellent degrees

Created by Lara Kris­tin Zei­tel | |   Aktuelle Meldungen | PTT-en

Awarded: This year's VDE Rhein-Ruhr Prize for outstanding degrees in the field of electrical engineering, electronics and information technology was recently awarded.

From the numerous applications, the selection committee proposed six candidates for the VDE Prize. The young engineers Benedikt Sand, Robert Jan Nowak, Jan Christopher Müller, Benedikt Sievert, Florian Wagner and Marcel Lenz received their prizes on February 8 at the E-World trade fair in Essen. The event was opened by Chairman Hartmut Fiege. In the form of an interview, the young members' speaker Chris Kittl then introduced the four award winners who were present and who gave information on their theses. Prof. Andreas Steimel and Hartmut Fiege then awarded the prizes.

Marcel Lenz from the Ruhr University Bochum received the VDE Rhein-Ruhr Prize for his master's thesis in the international Lasers and Photonics course. Since 2014 he has been a research assistant in the Faculty's Top-ING program. The concept of his master's thesis "Spectral Domain Optical Coherence Tomography for Non Destructive Testing of Protection Coatings on Metal Substrates" is offered as part of the Top-Ing program. The aim of the work was to use optical coherence tomography (OCT) to measure thin, transparent protective layers for bare and corroded metal. His work demonstrated the added value of optical coherence tomography in order to protect important cultural assets.

Postal Address

Ruhr-University Bochum
Faculty of Electrical Engineering
and Information Technology
Photonics and Terahertz Technology
Postbox ID 16
Universitätsstraße 150
D-44801 Bochum


Room: ID 04/327
Te­l.: (+49) (0) 234 32 - 23051
Fax: (+49) (0) 234 32 - 14167
E-Mail: ptt+office(at)
RUB campus map & travel instructions

Chair Holder

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Martin Hofmann
Building: ID 04/329
Te­l.: (+49) (0) 234 32 - 22259
Fax: (+49) (0) 234 32 - 14167
E-Mail: martin.hofmann(at)

To Top