Prof. Dr.-Ing. Aydin Sez­gin

Di­gi­ta­l Communication Systems

Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­ty Bo­chum
Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Informationtechnology
Digital Communication Systems
Postbox ID 13
Uni­ver­si­täts­stra­ße 150
D-44801 Bo­chum

ID 2/353

(+49)(0)234 / 32 - 29849

(+49)(0)234 / 32 - 14100



Curriculum Vitae

Aydin Sezgin received the Dipl.Ing. (M.S.) degree in communications engineering from Technische Fachhochschule Berlin (TFH), Berlin, in 2000, and the Dr. Ing. (Ph.D.) degree in electrical engineering from TU Berlin, in 2005.

From 2001 to 2006, he was with the Heinrich-Hertz-Institut, Berlin. From 2006 to 2008, he held a postdoctoral position, and was also a lecturer with the Information Systems Laboratory, Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA. From 2008 to 2009, he held a postdoctoral position with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, University of California, Irvine, CA, USA. From 2009 to 2011, he was the Head of the Emmy-Noether- Research Group on Wireless Networks, Ulm University. In 2011, he joined TU Darmstadt, Germany, as a professor. He is currently a professor of information systems and sciences with the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany.

To top


He is interested in signal processing, communication, and information theory, with a focus on wireless networks. He has published several book chapters more than 40 journals and 140 conference papers in these topics. He has coauthored a book on multi-way communications. Aydin Sezgin is a winner of the ITG-Sponsorship Award, in 2006. He was the first recipient of the prestigious Emmy-Noether Grant by the German Research Foundation in communication engineering, in 2009. He has coauthored papers that received the Best Poster Award at the IEEE Communication Theory Workshop, in 2011, the Best Paper Award at ICCSPA, in 2015, and the Best Paper Award at ICC, in 2019. He has served as an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, from 2009 to 2014.


To top

To Top